Mile2 Cybersecurity Certifications

Cybersecurity Certifications

OCU C)HT D Discussion Lesson 12

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
    • #94646
      Manny Varela

      Discuss the different types of Wi-Fi standards and encryption options for them.

    • #95291
      Jacob Mannon

      There are currently 6 Wi-Fi standards available today. In order from one to six the standards are 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11ac, and 802.11ax. I did some research, and it appears that there is a Wi-Fi 7 and 8 in development. The encryption standards used for Wi-Fi are WEP, WPS, WPA1 and WPA2. The most commonly used encryption type is WPA2 which also consists of WPA personal and enterprise. WEP is the least common encryption standard due to it having the most issues.

      • #95361
        Matt McShane

        I would be surprised if in the year, maybe 3, if they happen to improve on those Wi-Fi and encryption standards. It be good for certain PC users if they happen to develop a new wifi or just maybe fix the mistakes found from the recent standard.

    • #95360
      Matt McShane

      After doing some research, there a lot of standards out there: 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11n, 802.11g, and more, but those were the commonly used (Jacob went into some detail). Simply put, every 802.11 after the original are all building off the 802.11 foundation. The developers added more to the original, with more benefits but also some setbacks. They improved by fixing those mistakes, which came out to other such 802.11 so on and so forth. We learned from Operating Systems Technician that the common encryption standards are WEP, WPS, and WPA 1 and 2. WEP was the first Wifi encryption created and used so the developers needed to fix those mistakes, making what’s known as WPA and WPS.

      • #95505

        WPA2 has long been the go-to standard for securing wireless networks and offers stronger encryption. WPA3 was released in 2018, and many devices and routers continue to use WPA2 because it’s well-established and widely supported by older routers, smartphones, and laptops.

    • #95425

      There are several Wi-Fi Standards such as 802.11n, 802.11ac, and 802.11ax that determine the speed and capabilities of your Wi-Fi connection. Each standard offers faster speeds and improved performance compared to the previous ones. WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access) and WPA2 are both encryption methods, but WPA2 is an improved version of WPA. The main difference is in the security level they provide. WPA2 uses a stronger encryption algorithm known as AES (Advanced Encryption Standard), while WPA uses TKIP (Temporal Key Integrity Protocol). This makes WPA2 more resistant to hacking and unauthorized access. It is recommended to use WPA2 for better security. Another encryption method is called WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy). However, WEP is less secure compared to WPA and WPA2. It is recommended to use WPA2 as the main encryption method for a more secure environment.

      • #95446
        Jacob Mannon

        I agree that WPA2 creates the more secure environment. Standard 802.11ax is a relatively newer standard that wasn’t mentioned in the module. Released in 2019, this standard produces speeds up to 10 Gbps.

    • #95502
      Victoria Rollins

      There are several Wi-Fi standards and encryption options commonly used today. Here are some of the main ones:

      Wi-Fi Standards:

      1. 802.11b: Introduced in 1999, it has a maximum speed of 11 Mbps and operates on the 2.4 GHz frequency band.

      2. 802.11g: Introduced in 2003, it has a maximum speed of 54 Mbps and operates on the 2.4 GHz frequency band.

      3. 802.11n: Introduced in 2009, it supports speeds up to 600 Mbps and operates on both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency bands.

      4. 802.11ac: Introduced in 2014, it supports speeds up to several gigabits per second and operates only on the 5 GHz frequency band.

      5. 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6): Introduced in 2019, it offers even higher speeds and more efficient use of the wireless spectrum compared to 802.11ac.

      Encryption Options:

      1. WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy): An older encryption standard that is now considered insecure and easily compromised.

      2. WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access): Introduced as a replacement for WEP, with improved security features.

      3. WPA2: The most widely used Wi-Fi security protocol currently, offering stronger encryption and security than WPA.

      4. WPA3: The latest Wi-Fi security protocol, providing improved security features and protection against various types of attacks.

      Choosing the right Wi-Fi standard and encryption option depends on factors such as the devices you have, the level of security required, and compatibility with your network equipment. Upgrading to newer Wi-Fi standards and using stronger encryption protocols like WPA2 or WPA3 can help ensure a more secure and efficient wireless network.

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.


Please Note:

The support ticket system is for technical questions and post-sale issues.


If you have pre-sale questions please use our chat feature or email .